People Interact

Blog about people-centered design by Lisa Chow and Sandra Sajonas.

Wandering Librarian: Amazon Bookstore at Columbus Circle

This was completely unplanned yet feels coordinated, I guess that’s what partners in crime do 🙂 While my partner in crime, Sandra, came across the yet to be opened 34th st location for the Amazon bookstore last week, I made my way to the already opened Amazon bookstore in the Shops at Columbus Circle while on my hunt for the NYC Wave Walk (sea-inspired sculptures on display in NYC through the end of June); I’ve seen 14 so far.

Here’s a photo slideshow of my visit to Amazon Books at Columbus Circle:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My initial impressions and observations:

  • The bookstore is pretty well-staffed and the staff were all very friendly, saying hello and/or asking if I need any help.
  • There’s a big push with Amazon Prime as that was a commonly asked question: Do you have Amazon Prime?
  • I overhead one staff member who was trying to track down a book. Not sure if there is initial inventory things to be ironed out.
  • There are limited seating areas with a sprinkling of a few comfy chairs throughout.
  • It was a very visual and browser friendly experience with all the book covers displayed.
  • It was a fairly busy Monday evening, perhaps because it was raining. There were a few people reading, lots of people browsing.

And as for what brought me to Columbus Circle – the hunt for the wave sculptures, I saw 6 of them there, but my favorite NYC Wave Walk sculpture so far is the Sea Glass near the Intrepid.

nyc-wave-walk-intrepid

Leave a Reply

