People Interact

Blog about people-centered design by Lisa Chow and Sandra Sajonas.

Wandering Librarian: Wilton Library Association

Wandering inland I found myself in Wilton, CT and decided to visit the Wilton Library Association (AKA the public library). Housed in a modern 1 floor building, the public floor wraps around 2 courtyards. There was a noticeable lack of directional signage although the simple floor plan made it easy to navigate the library.

Upon first entering the building, I was immediately drawn to the children’s room. How could I miss it with its artistic doorway beckoning me in? It was one of the more impressive children’s rooms I’ve seen in my wanderings; lovely local art throughout, a fish tank & low kid friendly shelving.

Past the children’s room is the innovation station. For a small library they are well equipped with MakerBot 3-D printer, an iMac with Final Cut Pro, a PC with Adobe Creative Cloud, a digital scanner, a VHS to DVD converter, a Cricut Die Cutter, soldering stations, 3D Doodlers, and an electronic sewing machine.

A couple of other things I noticed during my visit:

  • 1 Polaris self checkout machine
    • media case self unlocking device
  • Translation of call numbers posted on book shelves
  • No cafe that I saw
  • Great puzzle collection available for checkout
  • Electric vehicle charging station in parking lot
  • Nice book displays throughout

My overall impression of the library is that it is very tidy and neat and covers patrons’ basic needs and managing to stay up-to-date on the technology library trends.

 

Leave a Reply

