People Interact

Blog about people-centered design by Lisa Chow and Sandra Sajonas.

IFLA Conference Registration: A Bad and Frustrating User Experience

I was pretty excited about attending and presenting at my first IFLA conference until it was time to register for the conference. I’ve registered for many conferences in the past few years and I have to say I had such a bad and frustrating user experience that I feel the need to share for two reasons: venting (I’m human, after all) and improving usability and user experience (I’m hoping that this bad user experience leads to IFLA and other organizations/groups to improve the usability of their conference registration/payment processes).

After creating an online profile, the online registration system asked me to choose a currency: USD or EUR. I selected USD currency.

ifla-1.png

ifla-2.png

It then prompted me to pick a logo for the credit card, in which the AMEX logo is one of the choices. I selected AMEX and proceeded to the next screen to input payment info.

ifla-3.png

ifla-4.png

After submitting the payment info, I got an error message. I tried re-submitting the payment info several times and it still didn’t work. I then contacted IFLA conference registration about the error message in which I attached a screenshot of the error message with my email; I was immediately told that if I’m having problems with online registration, I should use the paper form.

It wasn’t until insisting on finding out what the online registration issue is, I was then told they can’t take AMEX with USD currency. The online registration system should have been designed to not show AMEX as an option if the USD currency is selected and should have a note that says they can’t take AMEX with USD currency.

I was told afterwards that there is a note that says they can’t take AMEX with USD currency. However, the note isn’t very prominent. I missed it. It could be easily missed by others as well.

ifla-2.png

At that point (it was a week before the conference) and without any travel and lodging arrangements (I was waiting for conference registration to be completed first), I decided it was best to forgo this year’s IFLA conference. I was really looking forward to attending and presenting at my first IFLA conference.

One response to “IFLA Conference Registration: A Bad and Frustrating User Experience

  1. Academic Librarianism August 25, 2016 at 2:03 pm

    Sorry to hear! Sorry to miss you there too!

Leave a Reply

