People Interact

Blog about people-centered design by Lisa Chow and Sandra Sajonas.

User Experience of Surveys

Screenshot 2014-10-01 at 6.15.30 AMLast month, I attended a webinar. Doing my post-webinar duty, I decided to complete the survey.

By rote, I quickly scanned the questions in bold and checked my answers.

With 3 questions left to go I realized that I had been checking the wrong answer!

By now, we’ve all probably completed hundreds of SurveyMonkey surveys.

By standard survey convention, I had gotten used to “Strongly agree” being the first choice followed by “Agree”, “Neither agree nor disagree” & so on.

Still feeling that it was my duty to complete the survey, I went back & changed my answers to all the previous questions.

This experience served as a lesson for me and hopefully future survey writers.

Leave a Reply

