People Interact

Blog about people-centered design by Lisa Chow and Sandra Sajonas.

A Chat with an Infographic Designer

In a recent post, we shared an infographic on Contact Forms for the Marketing Ninja.  We talked to the designer of said infographic. Lisa is a designer at SingleHop.

In layperson terms, what is SingleHop, what does SingleHop do?

SingleHop provides hosting for those that need a dedicated or cloud server. We also provide the infrastructure needed for larger scale IT needs and we can fully or partially manage servers for you. In the simplest terms, we keep your website and data online, and secure!

As a designer, what do you do at SingleHop?

I am both a print and web designer at SingleHop, though my main focus is on our web presence. Our website is in a constant state of reinvention. Always looking to provide the best experience for users, the simplest way to get from point A to B, and the highest engagement possible.

For someone interested in creating infographics, any tips/advice on tools, software, must do’s, never do’s etc.?

Infographics were something I started doing to challenge my design skills in a new way. When working in-house, there is a strong tendency to rely on previous solutions to new problems. It also gave me an excuse to thoroughly research specific design techniques and their user engagement.

I follow a process when creating an infographic, and by the time I get to Photoshop, I’m already 70% done. The first thing I do is jot down a general topic, and bullet out everything I know about this topic (or think I know). I then start the research phase, this is by far the most time consuming part of the process. I let the surveys and figures I find completely dictate what the infographic is going to be. In this way, I am trying to make a design that presents information in easily digestible pieces, and as straight forward as possible. The design is there to support the information, not the other way around.

The whole infographic is then laid out on paper. This is where I figure out what information makes sense to include, and exclude. Once I have a good idea about what everything is going to look like on paper, I go to Photoshop. First draft is in black and white, second draft brings in colors.

Any thoughts on UX, user experience?

The golden rule of designing for user experience seems to be “Keep It Simple,” and make your site easy to use. This means guiding users to where you want them, cutting out distractions, and visual noise. It means that every element, or omission of an element is supporting your message. On top of this, you must keep establishing constancy for you users.

Then you start tracking. For every design and redesign, track what your users are doing, and how they are responding to the design. Set up some tests, and see what works best in real world implementation. Designing a positive user experience means keeping your designs fluid, and tweaking where necessary.

One response to “A Chat with an Infographic Designer

  1. Pingback: Top Posts of 2014 | People Interact

Leave a Reply

