People Interact

Blog about people-centered design by Lisa Chow and Sandra Sajonas.

The New LinkedIn Profile

You may have heard that there is a new LinkedIn profile rolling out.  Eventually all LinkedIn members will get the new profile. I just got my new LinkedIn profile yesterday (see screenshot).

New LinkedIn Profile

As you may know, Sandra and I are big fans of LinkedIn, but I’m not sure how I feel about the recent LinkedIn change. I like that the new LinkedIn profile is more visual with icons for the various headings/categories (experience, courses, education, publications, etc.) and you can now add links under your job positions, education and a few other sections, but along with this release of the new profile, LinkedIn has streamlined their app offerings, which means apps like SlideShare presentations and WordPress, will no longer be supported. Apps like SlideShare and WordPress are how I share my presentation slides and blog posts with my LinkedIn network.

What do you guys think of the new LinkedIn profile?

EDIT (12/12/12): It seems like my SlideShare presentations are now a part of my professional gallery in the Summary section, so it’s not entirely gone, but what if I upload a new presentation to Slideshare, will it display in the gallery? Also, I’ve activated my LinkedIn profile with WordPress’ Publicize, so WordPress blog posts now show up as status updates, but not also in an app like before.

EDIT (12/14/12): I just noticed my Amazon reading list is not displayed. I’ve made connections with people who have a mutual interest in particular book titles. I’m wondering if it’s gone for good. I miss the apps.

Leave a Reply

