People Interact

Blog about people-centered design by Lisa Chow and Sandra Sajonas.

Kindle Help Me Choose: Part Deux

If you read my October Kindle Help Me Choose post, you saw that I needed some guidance in choosing a Kindle.

This holiday season, I purchased 3 Kindles as gifts.  I’ve decided to share my experiences with 3 different models.

Kindle

Pros: 1. This first generation is the lightest version. 2. Its good for serious readers who only intend to read.

Cons: 1. It doesn’t have a keyboard so every time you want to type you have to bring up the internal keyboard and select letters one at a time. 2. The only way to turn the page is using the buttons at the  bottom.

Kindle Keyboard

Pros: 1. The external keyboard makes it easier to do internet searches and type notes. 2. You now have multiple ways of turning the page.

Cons: 1. It’s heavier than first generation. 2. Like the first generation, if you want to highlight sections or look up words, you have to move the cursor up & down each line and left & right of each word which quickly gets annoying.

Kindle Touch

Pros: 1. Now you can operate by just touching the screen in certain places. 2. If you want to highlight or look up a word you just hold your finger on a section or word for a couple seconds.

Cons: 1. It’s sensitive and if something brushes against it I find myself in a completely different section of my book. 2. It doesn’t have an external keyboard so I found myself typing less.

There are a couple things more I want to share.

  • All have wireless access for easier purchasing of books right from your Kindle
  • All of theses models have the option of buying the more expensive 3G version
  • All have dictionary functions
  • All let you change the font size
  • The usability is a bit clunky and counter-intuitive. Trying to do things, like remove a book from your device, takes a couple of attempts before you figure it out.
  • Has a pretty flat learning curve.
  • You can have multiple Kindle devices on the same Amazon account and you can share books among these devices.
  • You can remove books from your device to make room but the book stays on your Amazon account if you want to put it back on your device.

All in all, this is a great gift for serious readers.

2 responses to “Kindle Help Me Choose: Part Deux

  1. Pingback: Our 200th Blog Post and More | People Interact

  2. B. E. Berger December 20, 2011 at 9:36 am

    Thanks for the clear explanation. BTW, I got a Kindle Fire last month. I’m loving it! I really like the way it’s so much easier to read — don’t have to worry about getting excellent lighting for these middle-aged eyes. And I can bump up the font — which makes reading so much easier. I’m reading more because it’s physically more accessible. And that is what it is all about! Though, because the Fire connects to the Internet, I do get distracted by Facebook. 🙂

Leave a Reply

